Here is why #BoycottFilmfare is trending

Here is why #BoycottFilmfare is trending

Before we talk about why netizens have trended #BoycottFilmfare today, one needs to recall all those speculations ever since 1999 that Bollywood awards were pre-fixed and biased. The modus operandi was clear: give them an award and get a discount on the actors' performance fees. Earlier, the awards were credible and trust-worthy. However, Filmfare has lost its respect/value with this year' winners list among a major section of people.

Expecting the Filmfare Awards to be genuine this time from cine-goers, the 65th edition, held in Guwahati, received backlash, questioning its credibility. The event has been trolled badly and netizens emphasised many flaws in the selection of winners. Ranveer Singh and Alia Bhatt starrer Gully Boy received 13 awards with both actors honoured with Best Actor and Best Actress respectively.

Also, Ananya Panday was honoured with the Best Debut Actress trophy. However, the list was not taken well with the netizens. The internet blasted the organisers by trending 'Boycott Filmfare' and 'Boycott Filmfare Awards' on Twitter. The winners were called as biased selection and people voiced their opinions on how Zoya Akhtar's Gully Boy was good but did not deserve 13 awards.

Gully Boy won Best Film, Best Director for Zoya Akhtar, Best Actor In A Leading Role (Male) for Ranveer Singh, Best Actor In A Leading Role (Female) for Alia Bhatt, Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female) for Amruta Subhash, Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male) for Siddhant Chaturvedi, Best Music Album, Best Lyrics, Best Screenplay and Best Dialogue. The never-ending list of awards for Gully Boy has irked the internet.

On top of it,  Ananya Panday received the Best Debut Actress award for Student Of The Year 2 and Pati Patni Aur Woh. Comparing these awards with Akshay Kumar's Kesari and Hrithik Roshan's Super 30, netizens slammed organizers for not giving other worthy films a single award. A few of them have particularly pointed out that Teri Mitti from Kesari deserved to win the Best Lyrics award as opposed to Apna Time Aayega from Gully Boy. In fact, the lyricist of Teri Mitti, Manoj Muntashir, expressed that he is upset for his song not winning the Best Lyrics award and announced that he will not attend award shows henceforth.