UP By-Poll : Rude Shock To BJP

UP By-Poll : Rude Shock To BJP

In what can be a major jolt to the incumbent BJP that is ruling both UP and the Centre, the by poll result of UP and Bihar come as a rude shock. PM Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, UP CM Yogi Adityanath have received a blow from the by-poll results in Uttar Pradesh, India's largest and politically most significant state. This is when both the central and state government are under BJP's control. This shows us both the fragility of politics and robustness of democracy.

Uttar Pradesh : SP Far Ahead of BJP

Just one year ago, the BJP had swept the UP state assembly elections with a record majority by defeating SP, Congress, BSP. However, within just a year, the political situation seems to have changed completely as BJP is on the verge of losing Gorakhpur, Phulpur - the seats of the Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy CM Sushil Modi.

SP candidate Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel has taken an unassailable lead of 40,000 votes in Phulpur by-election after the 25th round of counting. In Gorakhpur,  SP candidate Praveen Kumar Nishad is leading by 28,372 votes against nearest rival Upendra Dutt Shukla of BJP.

Bihar : RJD - 1, BJP -1

RJD candidate Kumar Krishna Mohan alias Uday Yadav has won Jehanabad bypoll. The Jehanabad Assembly seat fell vacant after the death of RJD Legislator Mundrika Yadav. BJP candidate Rinki Rani Pandey has won from Bhabhua.


On the whole, the poll drubbing of BJP in UP, Bihar is seen as an anti-Modi wave in the country, ahead of crucial assembly elections in Rajasthan, Karnataka and the next general elections for parliament.