Two More Stong Congress Leaders Join TDP

Two More Stong Congress Leaders Join TDP

After senior Congress leaders from Andhra Pradesh Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy and Kishore Chand Deo joined the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP), two other key Congress leaders are set to follow suit as there is no alliances between the TDP and Congress anymore in the state. According to inside reports, former union minister Panabaka Lakshmi and former Congress MP from Amalapuram Harsha Kumar joined the yellow party.

TDP sources say that the party chief N. Chandrababu Naidu had already drawn up a plan to field Panabaka from Tirupati Lok Sabha seat even before she had joined the party formally. Yesterday, Panabaka along with her husband Krishnaiah met the Chief Minister in Amaravati and formally joined the party. Panabaka Lakshmi is a four-time MP who won from Nellore Lok Sabha constituency and then was shifted to Bapatla in 2009, where she won again.

Meanwhile G.V. Harsha Kumar, is considered to be a strong Dalit leader from the Konaseema region and hence, the TDP is mulling over fielding him from Amalapuram Lok Sabha constituency, say party sources. Earlier, TDP leadership was planning to give the Amalapuram Lok Sabha ticket to former Lok Sabha speaker G.M.C. Balayogi's son, Hareesh but now that Harsha Kumar has entered the fray, Hareesh may be given assembly ticket from Amalapuram.

The political circles in Andhra are rife with gossip that these Congress leaders who are planning to shift to the Telugu Desam Party know very well that it is tough for the Congress to survive in the current political scenario. Hence, the plans to shift to TDP which could at least guarantee their political future for a few more years! 

Political Stories

Movie News