ICC objects Dhoni's army gloves

ICC objects Dhoni's army gloves

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has objected team India star wicket-keeper MS Dhoni from wearing gloves that had regimental dagger insignia of the Indian Para Special Forces. Dhoni was made Lieutenant Colonel in the Parachute Regiment in the year 2011 and he always wanted to join the armed forces. So for the World Cup he got a special pair of gloves and they had the logo of it.

In the 40th over of the match with South Africa, the television showed Dhoni sporting this symbol. As this came to the attention of ICC, it has requested the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to get the symbol removed from Dhoni's gloves. As per the ICC rules, it's a breach but they said they will not impose any fine on Dhoni but their request will be considered as first intimation.

However, Dhoni is getting flooded with the support from netizens all over the country. The hash tag #DhoniKeepTheGlove is trending on top position from Friday morning. But we know Dhoni is a non-controversial person and he will certainly abide by the ICC rules. He may not be wearing the same gloves on the Saturday's match against Australia.