Who Will Be Next Congress President?

Who Will Be Next Congress President?

Ruling out the rethink, Congress President Rahul Gandhi has tendered his resignation to party's top post. Taking responsibility for the defeat in 2019 general election, Rahul has quit the post. He, however, will continue to be president until his resignation is accepted by the Congress Working Committee (CWC) and a new chief is appointed after due process.

It is buzzed that All India Congress Committee (AICC) general secretary's most senior member Motilal Vora would be made as interim president till new president is elected.

Meanwhile, several names are doing the rounds in Congress for the president job. Names of dalit leaders like Sushil Kumar Shinde, Mallikarjun Kharge and Mukul Wasnik are being heard. On the other hand OBC and upper-caste leaders such as Ashok Gehlot and Anand Sharma and young, dynamic leaders like Sachin Pilot, Jyotiraditya Scindia are also strongly heard.

So, the first step would be to call for a meeting of the CWC and to accept Rahul's resignation and thus interim president would be chosen, followed by the due process of the election of the party president.

Political Stories

Movie News