Andhra Pradesh gets new Governor

Andhra Pradesh gets new Governor

Former minister and BJP's senior leader from Odisha Vishwabhushan Harichandan has been appointed as the Governor of Andhra Pradesh. Vishwabhushan will be taking charge from ESL Narasimhan soon. Vishwabhushan is a loyalist to the party and is in the good books of PM Narendra Modi. Hence, Modi has decided to honour Vishwabhushan with a constitutional post. While the names of Sushma Swaraj were heard for AP Governor post, Sushma had then denied the rumours.

Nearly serving as 10 years as the Governor, ESL Narasimhan will soon be relieved as AP Governor.  And he will be replaced by Vishwabhushan.

Back in December 2009, Narasimhan, who was the Governor of Chattisgarh, had taken additional charge as the Governor of United Andhra Pradesh on 27 December 2009 and he was later made the Governor formally on 23rd January in 2010. Since then, Narasimhan has been serving as AP Governor. Even after  Andhra Pradesh is bifurcated in 2014, Narasimhan continued to serve as the Governor for both the states. On June 13, 2017, ESL Narasimhan has set a new record by becoming the longest serving Governor of Andhra Pradesh. He had broken Governor Krishna Kant's record and thus Narasimhan has become the 7th longest-serving Governor in India.

Meanwhile, Chattisgarh has also got new Governor. Sushri Anasuya has been nominated as the Governor of Chattisgarh.

Political Stories

Movie News