First in history: 9 New SC Judges Take Oath

For the first time in the history of India’s Supreme Court, nine new judges, including three women have taken oath as part of the Apex Court’s Collegium. The Supreme Court Chief Justice of India (CJI) N V Ramana has administered the oath ceremony.

With this, the strength of the Supreme Court went all the way up to 33, including the CJI while one position is vacant. The nine new judges are Justice Abhay Shreeniwas Oka, Justice Vikram Nath, Justice Jitendra Kumar Maheshwari, Justice Hima Kohli, Justice B V Nagarathna, Justice C T Ravikumar, Justice M M Sundresh, Justice Bela M Trivedi and former Additional Solicitor General P S Narasimha.

Justice B V Nagarathna who is part of the nine new Judges, is the daughter of former CJI E S Venkataramiah. She is likely to become the first woman Chief Justice of the Supreme Court in September 2027.

Justice Hima Kohli was the Chief Justice of Telangana High Court and now that she has moved to Supreme Court, Justice Ramachandra Rao has been appointed as the ‘Acting’ Chief Justice. Justice Ramachandra Rao is the son of retired Supreme Court judge and former Chairman of Law Commission Justice M Jagannadha Rao.

Justice Ramachandra Rao is Hyderabad born and pursued LLB at Osmania University in 1989.