Big Breaking: AP Govt Withdraws 3 Capitals Bill

In a sensational decision, Andhra Pradesh state government has decided to withdraw the most-talked about and controversial ‘3 Capitals Bill’ – AP Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of all Regions, 2020. The bill was originally proposed to establish 3 capitals in the state namely Visakhaptanam, Amaravati and Kurnool which will serve as Executive Capital, Legislative Capital and Judicial Capital respectively.

Today, AP state cabinet has called for an emergency meeting to discus on this and has taken the crucial move. CM Jagan is likely to make a key statement regarding this in AP state Assembly.

Minister Kodali Nani has spoken to media after the cabinet meeting. Responding on the 3 Capitals Bill and government’s decision, Nani said, “Technically lot of things are happening. Courts have been moved on the issue. Cabinet has met to discuss on it. We’ll take a decision accordingly. CM’s decision is final on this and we (cabinet) are with the CM.”

It can be noted that AP government had passed two crucial bills in 2020 – AP Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of all Regions (3 Capitals Bill) and CRDA Repeal. AP State Advocate General has informed the three-bench High Court that both these bills are withdrawn and state cabinet has taken a decision to withdraw its previous decision on these bills.

Ever since Decentralisation Bill and CRDA Repeal were passed and got assent from the State Governor, the farmers of Amaravati has been protesting against the state government’s move. Farmers have sacrificed lands voluntarily to the previous government upon trust on government and for the development of the state. They have moved the High court and took to streets for their rightful demand.

Farmers sat on hunger strikes and multiple protests to put pressure on state government. Farmers have been relentlessly waging war against the Decentralisation Bill. Opposition TDP, Janasena and BJP have extended their support to Amaravati farmers.