Amaravati Is AP’s Capital, Confirms Centre


The government of India has reiterated that Amaravati is the capital of Andhra Pradesh and it has been established as per the AP Bifurcation Act 2014. YCP Rajya Sabha MP Vijayasai Reddy shot a question at the Centre on the capital city row and Union Minister Nityananda Rai replied.

“As per Section 5 and 6 of AP Bifurcation Act, an experts committee was formed to study the possibilities of setting up a capital city. After thorough research and taking the experts committee’s report into consideration, Amaravati was notified as the Capital city. Post this Capital Region Development Authority (CRDA) Act was introduced,” informed the Union Home Ministry.

Further the minister added that in 2020, the AP government has withdrawn the CRDA Act and proposed ‘Three Capitals.’ But these decisions were overturned and the CRDA Act is being continued. “The Three Capitals Bill was withdrawn and the CRDA Act is still in existence,” told the minister.

However the Home ministry informed the Parliament that currently the capital row is pending in the Supreme Court and there is nothing to add in this issue.

This is interesting because the question regarding capital row was asked by YCP MP Vijayasai Reddy days after CM Jagan announced Vizag as the new capital of AP and soon he will shifting to the beach city.

It appears that there lacks clarity on YCP’s side on capital and the party/government really needs to take a stand. A revised ‘Three Capitals’ Bill is likely to be tabled in the upcoming budget sessions but the YCP government is maintaining secrecy on it.