T20 World Cup: DIsappointing & Worrying start from India

India and Pakistan headed into a prestigious clash in the T20 World Cup 2021. This is the first match for both teams. Pakistan won the toss and chose to bowl first. Virat Kohli too admitted that he would have opted to bowl first. However, team India kept the audiences on their nerves with a poor start.

India lost the wickets of Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, and Surya Kumar Yadav early in the game. Rohit (0) was dismissed in the first over and KL Rahul (3) was dismissed in the third over. Surya Kumar Yadav (11) and Virat Kohli tried to build a partnership but pressure overtook them. Surya Kumar was dismissed in the sixth over.

By the end of 10 overs of Indian innings, the team scored 60 runs for the loss of 3 wickets.

India kept all the hopes in captain Virat Kohli (26)* and Rishab Pant (19)*.

On the other hand, Pakistan’s bowler Shaheen Afridi conceived 19 runs in 3 overs and took the crucial wickets of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul. Spinner Hasan Ali dismissed Suryakumar Yadav.

India and Pakistan have faced each other in the T20 World Cup five times in the past. India won all those five matches. These encounters include the epic final of the 2007 T20 World Cup.

Playing XI:
India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (C), Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Varun Chakravarthy

Pakisthan: B Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, F Zaman, M Hafeez, S Malik, A Ali, S Khan, I Wasim, H Ali, H Rauf, S Afridi