CWG 2022: All eyes on the Indian women cricket team

T20 cricket is all set to make its entry into Commonwealth Games this year. The 2022 edition of this multi-sports event will kickstart in Birmingham today. Women’s T20 cricket will feature in the tournament. This is cricket’s second appearance in CWG. In 1998, men’s List-A cricket was included. South Africa won the Gold medal in that edition.

There will be eight teams participating in cricket this year. They are Australia, Barbados, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, England, and South Africa. These eight teams are divided into two groups.

Group A includes Australia, India, Pakistan, and Barbados.

Group B includes New Zealand, England, South Africa, and Sri Lanka.

In each group, every team will play a game against each other. The league games will be held till August 4. The semifinals will be held on August 6. The final and the third place match will be held on August 7.

India will be playing its first match tomorrow against mighty Australia. As it is a first-time appearance for the Indian women cricketers, they are taking the tournament prestigiously. India’s second match will be against Pakistan (July 31), and the third will be against Barbados (August 3).

Harmanpreet Kaur will be leading the Indian team in the tournament. We wish our players the best and hope they return home with a medal. Meanwhile, have a look at the Indian squad for the Common Wealth Games.

India: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Taniya Bhatia (wk), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Harleen Deol, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Sabbhineni Meghana, Sneh Rana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh, Pooja Vastrakar, Shafali Verma, Radha Yadav