KCR set to become longest-serving Telugu Chief Minister


Telangana commemorates its 10th Formation Day, marking a momentous occasion for the state on the 2nd of June. This year, Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao is set to achieve a remarkable feat by becoming the longest-serving Telugu Chief Minister, having served continuously for nine years as of June 2, 2023.

This accomplishment surpasses the tenure of any previous Telugu Chief Minister, including those from the Hyderabad State and the erstwhile united Andhra Pradesh.

Adding to the significance, several surveys predict a resounding victory for the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) in the upcoming Assembly elections, potentially leading Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao to serve three consecutive terms, a first in South India.

Tanguturi Prakasam served as the Chief Minister of the Madras Presidency for ten months during the days of the Madras Presidency. After the formation of united Andhra Pradesh, the first Chief Minister, Neelam Sanjiva Reddy, held office for three years.

Former Chief Ministers such as Kasu Brahmananda Reddy served for 7.7 years, Chandrababu Naidu for 8.3 years, and YS Rajasekhara Reddy for 5.3 years. Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao, who assumed office on June 2, 2014, will complete nine years in office on June 2, 2023.

Kumaraswami Kamaraj holds the record for the longest-serving Chief Minister of Madras State in South India, having served uninterrupted for 9.5 years from April 13, 1954, to October 2, 1963. Suppose Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao completes his full term without early elections and considers the upcoming State Assembly elections in December this year. In that case, he will achieve an uninterrupted tenure of 9.7 years.

In the 58-year history of united Andhra Pradesh, no party has been elected to power for three consecutive terms. However, a new record will likely be set with the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) having a high chance of securing a hat-trick in the next Assembly elections.

Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao’s emergence as an undisputed and influential leader in the current political scenario is unparalleled. Chandrashekhar Rao founded the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in 2001 to achieve statehood for Telangana and promise irrigation water, jobs, and sufficient funds for development. Despite facing numerous challenges, Telangana achieved statehood on June 2, 2014.

Under Chief Minister Chandrashekhar Rao’s leadership, Telangana has witnessed rapid development across all sectors. The state has transformed from a drought-prone region to the second-largest paddy producer in the country. Notably, the Kaleshwaram lift irrigation project, the largest of its kind globally, was completed.

Telangana is the only state providing 24-hour free power and water supply to farmers and has emerged as a role model for other states, leading in per capita income. Welfare programs such as Rythu Bandhu, Rythu Bima, Dharani portal, KCR Kits, Kalyana Lakshmi, and Dalit Bandhu have received appreciation.