Telangana Elections: 7.78% Voter Turn Out Till 9AM

As the clock struck 7 AM on November 30, 2023, the polling booths across 119 seats in Telangana opened their doors, marking the commencement of the Assembly elections. The political arena is witnessing a fierce battle between the BRS and the Congress, with both parties vying for supremacy.

As of 9 AM, the voter turnout stood at 7.78 percent, indicating an active participation of the electorate in the democratic process.

While the BJP endeavors to make significant inroads into the state’s political landscape, Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) is also making its presence felt.

Opinion polls suggest a closely contested fight, predicting a tough challenge for KCR, who has held the chief minister’s position for a decade. KCR, contesting from Gajwel and Kamareddy, is facing stiff competition.

The electoral battlefield boasts 2,290 contestants, including KCR’s son, KT Rama Rao. Notable figures from the Congress, such as Revanth Reddy in Kodangal and Kamareddy, and former cricketer Mohammad Azharuddin in Jubilee Hills, are key players. AIMIM’s Akbaruddin Owaisi is contesting from Chandrayangutta.

In the 2018 elections, the BRS secured 88 out of 119 seats, leaving the Congress trailing with a mere 19 seats, while the BJP managed to secure only one.