End Of Naidu Era In Kuppam?


Kuppam, the native constituency of TDP supremo and former Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu which had been the yellow party’s bastion for the last 35 years, has been taken over by the YCP in the ongoing panchayat elections. The candidates fielded by YCP won as sarpanches in a majority of the villages in the constituency.

The third phase of panchayat polls are underway in Andhra Pradesh. The YCP which has been going for forced unanimous elections in the panchayats could not go ahead for the same in Kuppam constituency, known to be Chandrababu’s bastion. It would be significant to note that the Opposition leader could win elections from the constituency seven times, even when he had not campaigned during the elections.

All the 89 panchayats in the constituency witnessed elections. It is learnt that the YCP implemented Plan B to ascertain its strength in the villages and emerged victorious in 74 panchayats. The TDP won 14 panchayats and the Congress had to be satisfied with one panchayat.

Kuppam constituency has four mandals in its limits and there are 26 panchayats in Kuppam mandal. Of them, the YCP won in 21 panchayats while the remaining went into the TDP’s kitty.

In Ramakuppam mandal, the YCP won 19 of the total 22 panchayats leaving the rest to the TDP.

In Gudupalle mandal, of the total 18 panchayats, the YCP won in 13 villages, TDP in 4 and the Congress in one village. In Shantipuram mandal, the YCP won in 20 panchayats confining the TDP to three villages.