BJP’s Mixed Reaction On Jagan’s 1 Year Rule

BJP at the Centre has been highly critical of the states of non-BJP rule and non-alliance states. However, surprisingly, a section of top brass at the BJP showered praises on AP CM YS Jagan and his government that successfully completed 1 year today. BJP’s Ram Madhav , MP GVL Narasimha Rao and a few other netas of BJP have patted Jagan’s back. Overall, it’s a mixed reaction from BJP on Jagan’s 1 year of rule.

While Ram Madhav conveyed his best wishes to Jagan government, he expressed satisfaction and confidence on Jagan’s administration that AP would progress and prosper in his rule. He said that CM Jagan is committed for AP’s development. He also welcomed and appreciated CM Jagan’s decision to act on Hindu Temples Wealth as per the recommendations of the Sadhu Sant Committee.

Ram Madhav further said BJP and YSRCP have good bond and said YCP MPs are supporting BJP MPs and NDA in Parliament. He said PM Narendra Modi is committed for AP’s development as per AP Reorganization Act and more than the act. He said the Centre would do its best to AP as per the recommendations of the 15th Finance Commission. He also admitted that there are some controversies in AP. However, he said CM Jagan need not be made responsible for all of them.

BJP’s Rajya Sabha MP GVL Narasimha Rao too made interesting comments in tune with Ram Madhav. GVL had responded on the row of State Election Commissioner Nimmagadda Prasad and stated that there were allegations about Nimmagadda being partial to TDP and hence asked him to be more impartial. He also said the High Court’s verdict is an eye-opener to AP state government. He said AP state government shouldn’t take crucial decisions in a rush. He said both the government and officials have certain limitations as per the Constitution of India. State BJP leaders like Kanna Lakshminarayana have been critical of Jagan and his government in the state.

On the whole, some BJP leaders stood by Jagan and others have got mixed response. Still it is a welcome change whereas the same BJP leaders had come down heavily on Chandrababu and previous TDP government.