Australia Emerges As The New T20 World Champion

It’s all over. Another heartbreak for New Zealand in an ICC tournament final. Australia has beaten their arch-rivals to win its first T20 World Cup title. It was fairly a one-sided game as they chased a target of 173 runs in just 18.5 overs.

New Zealand’s skipper Kane Williamson’s lone fight ended up in vain as his team lost yet another historic match.

The Australians were dominating right from the first over, during the chase. Though skipper Aaron Finch got dismissed a bit early, the Aussies recovered soon, all thanks to a stunning partnership between David Warner (53) and Mitchell Marsh (77* off 50 balls). The duo almost sealed the game for their team. Thus, even Warner’s dismissal didn’t affect them much. Marsh and Glenn Maxwell (28*) further took the game forward and scored 173/2 with 7 balls remaining.

After losing the toss, New Zealand was asked to bat first. Openers Martin Guptill (28) and Daryl Mitchell tried to give a good start but Josh Hazlewood (3/16) broke their settling partnership by scalping Mitchell’s wicket. But the Kiwis recovered well as captain Kane Williamson (85) settled the scoreboard with the help of Guptill. After Guptill got out, Glenn Phillips supported Kane.

The skipper played sensational innings and helped New Zealand in increasing its run rate. With the help of heroics, the Kiwis managed to post 172/4 after 20 overs.

However, the the bad luck has followed the Kiwis once again, after the 2015 and the 2019 World Cup finals. This is the first time Australia won a T20 World Cup. It is a remarkable achievement for the Aussies, especially after entering the tournament with no expectations around them.