MLC Results: Jagan Suspends Four YCP MLAs


The YSR Congress party which suffered a setback in the MLC elections, has taken action against its MLAs who were involved in cross voting. Advisor to AP CM, Sajjala Ramakrishna Reddy has addressed the press at AP Secretary and announced the suspension of four MLAs.

The MLAs are Kotamreddy Sridhar Reddy, Anam Ramnarayana Reddy, Undavalli Sridevi and Mekapati Chandrasekhar Reddy. Simultaneously the YCP blamed TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu for the whole episode.

“According to the information we have Chandrababu Naidu offered Rs 10 crore to Rs 15 crore to each MLA and influenced them to vote for TDP’s candidate and so cross voting happened. Some MLAs also got assurance that they would get B-form from TDP in the 2024 elections,” said Sajjala.

The advisor to CM further said, we have taken action immediately because it’s the party that would suffer the most. “The YCP leadership is convinced that the four MLAs voted for the TDP based on our internal probe and CM Jagan initiated suspension because such things should never happen again in future,” said Sajjala.

When asked about disqualifying the MLAs, Sajjala left the option to the MLAs. “It’s up to the MLAs whether they want to resign or not,” said Sajjala but he did not reveal whether the YCP would lodge a complaint against these MLAs with the AP Assembly speaker. Going by YCP insiders, the ruling party would certainly take up the issue to the notice of the Assembly Speaker.