Explained: New format of IPL for upcoming edition!

World’s biggest cricket league IPL to have two new teams from next year. One will be the Lucknow franchise owned by RP Sanjiv Goenka Group and the other one is the Ahmedabad franchise owned by CVC Capitals. With the addition of these two teams, IPL will have 10 teams in total from next year.

This is not the first time the league featured 10 teams. Earlier, there used to be Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Pune Warriors India but these teams were terminated eventually. After a long time, IPL is coming up with 10 teams again.

From next season, the league stage will feature 74 matches in total. Ten teams will be divided into two groups, comprising of five teams each. A team will play two matches against every other team in its group (home+away).

The same team will play a single game against four teams of the other group (home or away) and two matches against one team of the other group (home and away). According to this rule (42 + 41 + 1*2), every team will play a total of 14 matches each in the league stage.

The top four teams on the points table will qualify for the playoffs.

A mega auction will be held in January or February next year where every team will undergo a major revamp.

Subscribe us on Gulte - Google News