Difference between Cabinet Ministers and Ministers of State

Narendra Modi took oath for the third consecutive term as the Prime Minister on Sunday evening. Previously, Modi had taken oath as the Prime Minister on May 26, 2014 and May 30, 2019 . 

Along with him, nearly 72 Union Cabinet ministers and Ministers of State were also administered oath of office by President Droupadi Murmu. Now, let us take a look at the difference between the Cabinet ministers and Ministers of state.

Prime Minister is the leader and heads the Council of Ministers consisting of Cabinet Ministers and Ministers of State. A Cabinet minister is a member of the Union and leads a ministry.

Ministers of State (MoS) are of two types. While a few junior ministers are given MoS berths as independent charges and they need not report to any Cabinet minister, a few others are appointed as MoS deputy ministers who report to a Cabinet minister. The deputy ministers are usually tasked with a specific responsibility in that ministry.

There can be a Deputy Prime Minister too who would preside as Prime Minister in case of his absence. He is the senior most Cabinet minister.